Work-With-Me Statements and How to Use Them

Recommendations for joining and running startups

My Gen-Z Awakening

In New York I worked with a new graduate called Aaron. He was curious, persistent and enthusiastic, which are three traits I value highly. Intelligence, articulation and numeracy are the table stakes.

This was my first experience managing Gen-Z and I was ill-prepared for the demands on my time. While his work was excellent and I told him, Aaron sought my reassurance most days.

His mother even came to see me. She told me to push him hard because he was talented. I felt that was true even without parental bias.

Not everybody shared my view. Aaron unleashed his ideas on ill-prepared people. He discovered that an open-door policy does not always mean come in.

Aaron had type 2 personality traits with the potential to become a nurturing leader. He looked for the same support in his mentors. But that is not the best way to lead type 2s.

How did we design a system that brought the best out of both of us?

Creating a Company Culture

Joining a company is stressful. You want to showcase independent ideas while embracing what works. New leaders seek quick wins and, as these are in short supply, often make piecemeal changes such as software applications. This annoys more people than it benefits. The problem is exacerbated when people join startups from large corporations.

Without guidance new hires bring whatever systems they are used to using. This includes frequency of meetings, preferred communication channels and assumptions about ownership of clients. Finding the framework that works for your business takes time, but breaking it is easy.

There is a simple resolution but few companies use it. It’s called a Work With Me Statement.

How to Work-With-Me

Each person in the firm writes out their preferred way of working. This includes a chosen name and how they are to be addressed, but this is scratching the surface. We’re are seeking a deeper and lasting harmony of habits.

The 5 essential elements of a Work With Me statement are:

  1. How you acknowledge calls for help, deliver deadlines and respond to repeat requests. If you don’t like “did you see my email” reminders say so, but also say how you will acknowledge a message.

  2. How often you like to check in with teammates on a project and how frequently you expect the boss to check on you. Just writing these two out can be illuminating.

  3. Your working hours, whether fixed or flexible and attitude to evening and weekend work. If you have caring or coaching responsibilities outside of your job then tell people.

  4. How and when you tackle important tasks and whether you time block with do not disturb slots.

  5. Your preferred communication for everyday and emergency situations.

A business cannot accommodate everyone’s wishes. Build a framework that suits most people and explain why to those who preferences are not included. Making a Work Me Statement part of the hiring process heads off a lot of conflict.

Work With Me statements must be public. Anyone can check how to work with anyone else and see the popular support for the company culture. Guidelines on How We Work as a company should be shared with potential hires.

An Example of Me

I am Simon not Si. I prefer early mornings to late evenings and while I work most days, I like to be home at weekends.

You need only tell me once. If it’s not clear or a problem arises, I’ll tell you. Your deadline will be respected. Equally I am happy trusting people and leaving them to tackle tasks. The frequency of my 1-to1s has increased over my career, given the demand from younger colleagues.

I don’t overfill my calendar and expect blocked time to be respected. I use email and one chat app. If we use Slack, WhatsApp and Telegram I’m going to miss things.

Work With Me statements can be as long as you like. You may make them into templates but free expression must be allowed somewhere. People need to know they’ve been heard.

Sweet Home Chicago

Aaron and I compared working practices and agreed a regular but not daily check in. This worked as the projects I entrusted to him grew in size. I was sad to say goodbye when I returned to the UK.

Shortly after he left the firm for a good job and to be closer to home.

I write The Profit Elevator as a guide for smaller businesses to accelerate growth. Working with people is part of The Diversity Development Method in my P.R.O.F.I.T. Through Process programme.

Reply

or to participate.